Dr Sheila Lawlor

Sheila Lawlor directs the economic, education, constitutional and social policy programmes of Politeia. Her background is as an academic historian of 20th century British political history, having previously been a research fellow at Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge and Churchill College, Cambridge. Her academic publications include Churchill and the Politics of War 1940-41, and for Politeia her most recent publication is Ruling the Ruler: Parliament, the People and Britain’s Political Identity (2016).

Sir Brian Williamson CBE

Sir Brian Willamson is Director at NYSE Euronext, of MT Fund Management Ltd and Politeia, and is a trustee of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. He was also the chairman of LIFFE, the Financial Services Authority, Templeton Emerging Markets Investment Trust, Resolution plc, Climate Exchange plc and HSBC Holdings. He was inducted into the Futures Hall of Fame in 2007.

Professor Harold James

Harold James is the Claude and Lore Kelly Professor in European Studies, and Professor of History and International Affairs at Princeton University. He specialises in modern German, economic and financial history, and was awarded the Helmut Schmidt Prize for Economic History in 2004, and the Ludwig Erhard Prize in 2005.


George Robinson

Is co-founder of Sloane Robinson and serves as Patron of Politeia

Academic Advisory Council

Professor Vito Tanzi


Was Professor and Chairman of the Economics Department at Washington D.C. University. He also served as Head of the Tax Policy Division and as Director of the Fiscal Affairs Department at the IMF.


Professor Deepak Lal

Is Prodeepaklal1fessor Emeritus of International Development Studies at the Unviversity of California and of Political Economy at University College London. He has also served as consultant to the World Bank.


Professor David Dilks
Was Professor of International History at the University of LEeds and served as Vice Chancellor of the University of Hull from 1991 to 1999. He is the official biographer of Neville Chamberlain.
Professor Tim Congdon, CBE


Was honorary secretary of the Political Economy club from 1999 to 2010. He is an economist and businessman who currently serves as Chairman of the Freedom Association.

Professor Harold James


Is Professor of History and International Affairs at Woodrow Wilson School. He serves as Chairman of the Editorial Board of World Politics.

The Rt Hon Lord Willets
davidwillettsmp1Is a British Conservative Politician who served as Member of Parliament for Havant from 1992 to 2015 before joining the House of Lords. He served as Minister of State for Universities and Science from 2010 to 2014.

Westminster Advisory Council

The Rt Hon Sir Vince Cable

vincentcablemp1Served as a Liberal Democrat Member of Parliament for Twickenham from 1997 to 2015 and as Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills from 2010 to 2015.


The Rt Hon Lord McFall of Alcluith

lordmcfall1Is a British Labour Politician who served as Member of Parliament for Dumbarton and then West Dunbartonshire from 1987 to 2010 before joining the House of Lords. He currently serves as the Senior Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords.

The Rt Hon Frank Field MP
frankfieldmp1Is a British Labour Politician who has served as Member of Parliament for Birkenhead since 1979. He is currently chair of the Work and Pensions Select Committee.
The Rt Hon Lord Maude of Horsham

francismaudemp1Is a British Conservative Politician who served as Member of Parliament for Horsham from 1997 to 2015 before joining the House of Lords. He has served as Financial Secretary to the Treasury and in the Cabinet Office. He was Minister of State for Trade and Investment from 11 May 2015 to 11 April 2016.

The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP


michaelgovemp1has served as the Member of Parliament for Surrey Heath since 2005. He is the former Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice. Prior to that, he was also the Secretary of State for Education.

Lord Lexden OBE
Is an author, historian and politician. He sits as a Conservative Life peer in the House of Lords, having joined in 2010.
Richard Erhman

Is a journalist, businessman and
Consultant Director at Politeia

Business Council

Dan Cutts, Weightmans LLP

dan%20cutts1Dan Cutts is currently a senior partner at Weightmans Law Firm,having previously been Director of Insurance since 2007. Dan is the former director of the Insurance Business Line,and previously served as president of the Forum of Insurance Lawyers (FOIL), which he represented in the Civil Justice Council Mediations for Lord Justice Jackson’s report on Civil Costs. He has also been actively involved in the Ministry of Justice Claims Process Review Project.


Gerard Lyons

gerard%20lyons1Dr Gerard Lyons was Chief Economic Adviser to the Mayor of London. Until November 2012, he was the Chief Economist and Group Head of Global Research at Standard Chartered. Previous positions include Chief Economist at DKB International, Consultant to the Dai-Ichi Kangyo Bank Tokyo, Chief UK Economist at Swiss Bank Corporation. He began his career with Chase Manhattan. He gained his PhD on testing the efficiency of financial futures markets at the University of London.


Anthony Coombs, S&U PLC


Anthony Coombs is chairman of homecredit finance company S & U PLC. He also sits on the Executive Committee of the Consumer Credit Association. He was MP for Wyre Forest, in Worcestershire,for 10 years and served in the last Conservative Government as an Assistant Whip.

Sir Hugh Sykes, Brookfield Manor

sir-hugh-sykes-large1A chartered accountant and law graduate, Sir Hugh Sykes has had a wide and varied business career spanning large public companies as well as small private ones.He was Chairman of Yorkshire Bank plc from 1997 until 2004 having served on the board since 1990 and was also a member of the board of the parent company National Australia Bank and chaired the European Board from 2002 to 2004. He was also a director of Clydesdale Bank from 1999 to 2004.
He is currently a director of Bamford Group, a family private company which undertakes property development and other activities.

Carl Lygo, BPP

carl%20lygo1Carl Lygo is the Principal of BPP University College and CEO of BPP Holdings Ltd. He is a qualified Barrister with over 21 years’ experience in the education sector, and has worked at BPP for the past 15 years, eight of which as a board director. He led the team that made BPP the first for profit
organisation to be granted degree awarding powers in 2007. Prior to BPP, he practised in the areas of personal injury and employment law, before entering education.
Former appointments included special education advisor to the Judicial Studies Board by the Lord Chief Justice, and member of the medical regulatory body for the Secretary of State for Education.